Deze website in het Nederlands bekijkenSite en franšais
 

Mars surface

Plate Tectonics and the Greenhouse Effect on Mars

It is remarkable that no plate tectonics (= a horizontal movement of the crust under influence of magma) have been observed on Mars. As a result, Mars has neither high mountain ridges nor deep troughs.

Where the Martian crust was thin enough, high volcanoes emerged where magma escaped. Lava also penetrated through fissures in the planet’s crust. There is very little volcanic activity on Mars, so we do not expect to see an eruption any time soon. We cannot, however, exclude hydrothermal activity on the planet.

The absence of plate tectonics also has consequences for the planet’s atmosphere. Chalky rocks absorb carbon dioxide from the atmosphere, as they do on Earth. But active volcanoes on Earth restore this carbon dioxide to the atmosphere. On Mars, however, this does not occur and there is not enough compounds susceptible to produce a noteworthy greenhouse effect in the Martian atmoshere . So the greenhouse effect on Mars are far smaller than on Earth .

Mars - Olympus Mons (Credits ESA)
Mars - Olympus Mons (Credits ESA)

 

The Martian topography

The first striking feature in the Martian topography is the asymmetry between the Northern and the Southern hemispheres. The southern hemisphere is much more elevated. These southern highlands, often called "Terra" (Aonia, Cimmera, Noachis, Sirenum, ...), cover about two thirds of the planet and count more impact craters than the North.

 

Topography

 

The northern hemisphere is mainly made of vast plains at low altitudes below level zero and are called "Planitia" (Acidalia, Amazonis, Arcadia, Utopia, ...). These lowlands cover about one third of the planet and present few impact craters due to the accumulation of lava flows that flattened their relief surfaces.

The reason of this North-South dichotomy is still unknown but an hypothesis seems priviledged: the occurrence of one or multiple impacts with giant external bodies in the early history of Mars.

 

 

Mars possesses the highest volcanoes of the Solar System. The biggest ones are shield volcanoes in Elysium and Tharsis regions. Tharsis is in fact a vast volcanic bulge of 7-10 km height in average that was built by innumerable generations of lava flows.

The highest volcano is Olympus Mons which reaches an altitude of 20 km and is located just to the West of Tharsis.

 

Olympus Mons (Credit ESA)
Olympus Mons (Credits ESA)

 

The biggest canyon of the Solar System, Valles Marineris, is also found on Mars. It lies to the East of Tharsis and its dimensions reaches 3500 km long, 300 km wide and 7 km deep.


Valles Marineris relief
Valles Marineris

 

Three large and deep basins are found on the highlands, Argyre, Hellas and Isidis. They were formed by impact with big asteroids. The largest and deepest basin is Hellas Planitia with a diameter of 2200 km and a depth going down 7 km below the zero altitude level.

 

Mars Hellas
Mars: Hellas and Isidis (Credit NASA)



Link naar de website van het Federaal Wetenschapsbeleid
Link naar de Federale Portaalsite

Deze website in het Nederlands bekijkenView this website in English
 

Surface de Mars

Tectonique des plaques et effet de serre

Il est remarquable qu'on n'ait jamais observé de mouvements de tectonique des plaques sur la surface martienne (mouvement horizontal de la surface sous l'influence des mouvements de convection du magma). De ce fait, il n'y a pas de hautes chaînes montagneuses.

Là où la croûte martienne était très fine, des volcans très hauts se sont formés sous l'action de l'injection de magma. Le volcanisme sur Mars est très limité, c'est pourquoi il ne faut pas s'attendre à une éruption volcanique d'ici peu. Toutefois, on ne peut pas exclure la présence d'activité hydrothermale.

Mars - Olympus Mons (Credits ESA)
Mars - Olympus Mons (Credits ESA)

Cette absence de tectoniques des plaques a aussi des conséquences pour l'atmosphère. Sur Mars on trouve des pierres de calcaire et, tout comme sur la Terre, ces pierres absorbent le dioxyde de carbone présent dans l'atmosphère. Cependant sur Terre, ce dioxyde de carbone est ramené dans l'atmosphère via l'activité volcanique. Sur Mars, par contre, ce phénomène ne se produit pas et il n'y a pas assez de composés susceptibles de produire un effet de serre notable.

 

Topographie martienne

Le premier fait remarquable lorsque l'on observe la topographie martienne est l'asymétrie entre les hémisphères nord et sud. L'hémisphère sud étant significativement plus élevée que l'hémisphère nord. Les hauts-plateaux de l'hémisphère sud, souvent appelés "Terra" (e.g. Aonia, Cimmera, Noachis, Sirenum), recouvrent environ deux tiers de la planète et leur surface est criblée de nombreux cratères d'impact.

 

Topography

 

L'hémisphère nord quant à elle est principalement constituée de vastes plaines se situant sous le niveau zéro appellées "Planitia" (e.g. Acidalia, Amazonis, Arcadia, Utopia). Un tiers de la planète est recouvert par ces plaines à basse altitude où l'on dénombre beaucoup moins de cratères. L'accumulation de coulées de lave a aplani les reliefs de surface.

La raison de cette dichotomie est encore inconnue mais une hypothèse semble privilégiée: une ou plusieurs collisions entre la planète et un corps externe géant auraient eu lieu au début de l'histoire de Mars.

 

 

Mars possède les plus hauts volcans du système solaire. Les plus grands d'entre eux sont les volcans boucliers que l'on trouve dans les régions d'Elysium et de Tharsis. Tharsis est un large bulbe volcanique d'en moyenne 7-10 km d'altitude résultant d'innombrables coulées de lave. Le plus haut volcan est Olympus Mons qui atteint une altitude de 20 km et se situe juste à l'ouest de la région de Tharsis.

 

Olympus Mons (Credit ESA)
Olympus Mons (Credits ESA)


Le plus grand canyon du système solaire se trouve également sur Mars et se nomme Valles Marineris. Il se situe à l'est de Tharsis et ses dimensions atteignent 3500 km de long, 300 km de large et 7 km de profondeur.

 

Valles Marineris relief
Valles Marineris


Trois larges et profonds bassins se situent au milieu des hauts-plateaux: Argyre, Hellas et Isidis. Ils furent formés suite à des impacts d'astéroïdes. Le plus grand et le plus profond bassin est Hellas Planitia dont le diamètre s'étend sur 2200 km et dont la profondeur atteint 7 km sous le niveau zéro.

 

Mars Hellas
Mars: Hellas and Isidis (Credit NASA)



Link naar de website van het Federaal Wetenschapsbeleid
Link naar de Federale Portaalsite